Skip to content

On Ramadan 1433 / 2012

July 18, 2012

I don’t feel that I’m going to say anything blazingly insightful about Ramadan this time around, but I did want to wish a very happy and blessed one to all those who will be observing the holy month.

Plus, the most important thing that could be talked about this Ramadan is already being discussed a great deal: the very heavy and thorny issue of watching The Dark Knight Rises on the night Ramadan begins. I think I’m going to need a lot of time to really ruminate about all the highly worthwhile current rhetoric about a topic of such pressing concern.

I am lying, of course. Truthfully, I cannotfreakingbelieve that people are getting worked up about this.

Anyway, in case you are relatively new to this blog and are jonesing for some incredibly profound Ramadan-related material from me, check out some stuff I wrote last year, in which I

  • Got annoyed by the fuss being made about fasting in the summer. (Which, it seems, is now being paralleled with my annoyance about The Dark Knight Rises issue. Maybe I’m starting a personal Ramadan tradition of sardonic thinking? How unMuslimlike.)
  • Mused about how Ramadan should be a time when one reevaluates their relationship with food and gives it the love and attention it deserves.
  • Shared my experience of trying to complete recitation of the Quran during Ramadan.
  • Proposed the idea of a writerly duaa, an intimate, conversational, and emotional approach to asking from God.

Take care of each other and yourselves, pray earnestly, and have a soul-enriching Ramadan.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 911visa permalink
    July 19, 2012 12:59 am

    Ramadan Kareem to you, 😉
    amazing article thanks for sharing.
    911visa.wordpress.com

  2. July 29, 2012 9:14 am

    Ramadhan Kareen to you. Thanks for visiting my blog. I observe Ramadhan too and insyallah it was easy for me, hope it is for you too.

    • August 2, 2012 6:23 pm

      Thanks for visiting back! I found your blog through Amy Reads and look forward to reading more. May the rest of this Ramadan be easy for both of us.

  3. August 28, 2012 12:01 pm

    You know though, perhaps getting annoyed at the start of Ramadan is really just another way for your thoughts to be focused on what is important to you and to others?

Leave a Reply

