Skip to content

On Praying to Raise Hell

July 12, 2012

I wish someone told me this when I was younger. But it’s never too late, of course:

“Whatever you choose, however many roads you travel, I hope that you choose not to be a lady. I hope you will find some way to break the rules and make a little trouble out there. And I also hope that you will choose to make some of that trouble on behalf of women.” —Nora Ephron

(Many thanks to my amazing best friend for sharing Ephron’s words and kudos to her for resolving to raise her beautiful little daughter accordingly.)

I can’t help but make a parallel duaa for myself, for Nora Ephron has given me the words for what I should ask for this Ramadan:

“I ask, ya Allah that, I cease to be a lady. I pray that I find ways to break the rules and make a little trouble out there. And I pray that I make that trouble on behalf of all women.”

Ameen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2012 12:20 am

    A great thought as we head into Ramadan! Thank you.

  2. August 28, 2012 12:00 pm

    I love the quote!

Leave a Reply

