Skip to content

Even more on singlehood, by someone way more awesome than I will ever be

January 31, 2013

Rabia al-Basri said to Hasan al-Basri:

“If you can give me the answer to four questions, I will be your wife.” He said, “Ask, and if God permit, I will answer you.”

She said then, “What will the Judge of the world say when I die? That I have come out of the world a Muslim or an unbeliever?”

Hasan answered, “This is among the hidden things, which are known only to God Most High.”

Then she said, “When I am put in the grave and Munkar and Nakir question me, shall I be able to answer them (satisfactorily) or not?” He replied, “This is also hidden.”

She said next, “When the people are assembled at the Resurrection and the books are distributed, and some are given their book in the right hand and some in the left, shall I be given mine in my right hand or my left?” He could only say, “This also is among the hidden things.”

Finally she asked, “When mankind is summoned (on the Day of Judgement), some to Paradise and some to Hell, in which of the two groups shall I be?” He answered as before, “This, too, is hidden and none knows what is hidden save God, His is the glory and majesty.”

Then she said to him, “Since this is so, and I have these four questions with which to concern myself, how should I need a husband, with whom to be occupied?”*

kelso-burn

* Source: Muslim Women Mystics: The Life and Work of Rabi’a and Other Women Mystics in Islam by Margaret Smith

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 8:12 pm

    She. Is. The. Bomb.

  2. February 1, 2013 3:12 am

    so did she marry him?

  3. February 1, 2013 10:01 pm

    I’ve read the Indonesian version of this great woman.
    I said she was great because for nowadays women to behave so, they have got to hold a great ‘iman’ to Allah.

  4. February 11, 2013 1:21 am

    beautiful story!

  5. February 14, 2013 1:18 pm

    Beautiful…there is a beautiful nasheed that was made from one of her peoms that I love listening to when I need inspiration or to remind myself of the bigger picture.

  6. March 3, 2013 3:19 pm

    Just so you know Sarah, no one will ever be as awesome as you because no one else can ever be you!! There wil only ever be one of you and no one elase will ever have the same gifts that you have. Blessings. Bill.

  7. Bill Ellis permalink
    March 3, 2013 6:16 pm

    Interesting my email address is billthesailor@hotmail.com but when I sent you a message today about your writing a piece called “What is Islam?” seems that you have me blocked. If so, you ought to take me off your list please. Thanks.

  8. June 18, 2013 12:41 pm

    Wow! That’s a pretty remarkable and fantastic story!

Leave a Reply

