Skip to content

More Musings on Food and Ramadan: A Post in Beyond Halal

August 23, 2011
I’ve reached a kind of milestone in this blessed month: by the grace of Allah, I have been published in Beyond Halal. My piece is titled “Food Consciousness in Ramadan”, and in it I try to trace the spirituality in every stage of preparing, serving, and sharing food–specifically, an iftar meal. Do give it a read.

I’ve sung praises for the thinking behind Beyond Halal in a previous post, so I won’t reiterate them here. I do want to add, however, that there couldn’t have been a better place to have my first gig, and I’m deeply grateful for people like Krystina Friedlander (who also blogs here) who are as enthusiastic about my content as I am about theirs. There’s nothing like collaboration with folks who are doing such incredible, important work, and I hope to have more opportunities with them and others like them, Inshallah.
One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 2:07 am

    Nice article, masha’allah, as I just wandered here from the Beyond Halal article. Lovely to see collaboration, for sure!

Leave a Reply

